Traffic crashes are documented in one of two ways:
- State Crash Reports are used for crashes involving any type of injury and/or damages resulting in at least $1,000. State Crash Reports are kept by the Texas Department of Transportation in Austin. (Officers have 10 days to complete the report from the date of accident.)
- Online Copy - Please visit the Texas Department of Transportation website and follow the instructions. The fee is $6.00.
- In Person Copy - Please visit the Records Unit at the Richardson Police Department and present your completed request form anytime between 8:00 am – 5:00 pm, Monday – Friday, excluding holidays. The fee is $6.00. No bills larger than $20 accepted.
- Call Cards are used to document minor crashes with no injuries. Call Cards are not sent to the Texas Department of Transportation. They contain basic information about the crash and may be obtained from the Richardson Police Department Records Unit in person or by email at no charge. Click here to send your email request.
Filing Your Own Report
If you were involved in a crash which resulted in injury and/or $1,000 or more worth of damages, and was not investigated by a law enforcement officer, you may submit a State Crash Report to the Texas Department of Transportation using this printable form. This must be done within ten (10) days of the crash.
You can reach the Records Department at (972) 744-4836 Monday-Friday 8:00 AM to 5:00 p.m. (Central Time).